Balaclava Image Deep Throttle Logo
Auto Racing History Image
About Us
Russell's Ramblings
IMSA Thoughts
F1 Schedule
Master Schedule
Debunking Myths
News Links
Ed Donath Archive
In Association with

[NOTE: This race fact sheet was used during the CART/Champ Car years. They have not been updated since then. However, we left them up for the historical information.]


Track: Bayfront Park
Location: Miami, Florida
Type: 1.15-mile street course (14-turn flat layout).

Lap Record (up to 2003)
Adrian Fernandez (2003) - 44.253 (93.553 mph).

Race Record (up to 2003)
Mario Dominguez (2003) - 2:03:19.401 (75.533 mph).

Past Race Winners
Year Driver Laps Miles Time Speed
1995 Jacq Villenueve 90 164.610 1:59:16.863 82.801
2002 Cristiano da Matta 105 145.635 2:07:09.003 68.723
2003 Mario Dominguez 135 155.25 2:03:19.401 75.533

Other Florida Area Venues and Results

Jacksonville - 5-mile Beach Track
Year Driver Laps Miles Time Speed
1911 Louis Disbrow 20 100 1:15:25 79.56

Fulford-by-the-sea - 1.25-mile Board Oval
Year Driver Laps Miles Time Speed
1926 Peter DePaolo 240 300 2:19:12.95 129.295

Daytona International Speedway - 2.5-mile Paved Oval
Year Driver Laps Miles Time Speed
1959 Jim Rathmann 40 100 35:14.40 160.694
1959 Jim Rathmann 20 50 18:40.14 170.261

Tamiami Park - 1.784-mile Temporary Road Course
Year Driver Laps Miles Time Speed
1985 Danny Sullivan 112 199.808 2:04:59.410 95.915
1986 Al Unser, Jr. 112 199.808 1:52:45.380 106.322
1987 Michael Andretti 103 183.752 1:56:12.550 94.873
1988 Al Unser, Jr. 112 199.808 1:58:08.832 101.471

Miami-Dade Homestead Motorsports Complex - 1.502-mile Paved Oval
Year Driver Laps Miles Time Speed
1996 Jimmy Vasser 133 203.091 1:51:23.100 109.399
1997 Michael Andretti 147 222.999 1:38:45.666 135.478
1998 Michael Andretti 150 225.300 1:33:39.268 144.339
1999 Greg Moore 150 225.300 1:38:54.535 136.671
2000 Max Papis 150 225.300 1:22:01.975 164.788

St. Petersburg - 1.806-mile Street/Airport Course
Year Driver Laps Miles Time Speed
2003 Paul Tracy 105 189.63 2:04:28.904 91.401

Miami Track Thumbnail
The Track

Miami Sights Thumbnail The Sights
Miami Musings

1911: Though eight cars entered, only three met the rules for championship points, and one of them didn't finish a lap. Despite this, the margin of victory was only three seconds. 1926: DePaolo drove a Duesenberg while the next five finishers were in Millers. Track was destroyed by a hurricane just seven months after this event. 1959: Points race was held first, and it saw George Amick fatally injured. Non-points race was held afterwards and cut in half due to time constraints from the cleanup of Amick's wreck. Rathmann drove a Watson-Offy. 1987: Race shortened from 112 laps due to heavy rains. 1995: First race through the streets of Miami was a 1.829-mile course. 1997: Michael Andretti gives the Swift chassis its first victory in its first race. This is the second time Andretti brought a new chassis manufacturer a victory in its debut, winning for Reynard at Australia in 1994. 1998: Homestead configuration changed from a miniature Indy lookalike (four distinct corners with short chutes on each end) to constant radius turns on either end for a "truer" oval shape. 2000: In CART's final year at Homestead, Max Papis breaks the race record. 2002: Slowest race in CART history.
Site Index | Search | Contacts | Ad Rates |

Copyright © 1999-2019 by Deep Throttle. All Rights Reserved.
The names, logos, and taglines identifying Deep Throttle are proprietary marks of Deep Throttle. All other trademarks and service marks are property of their respective owners. Deep Throttle is an independent electronic publication and is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by any series, team, driver, or sponsor. Privacy Policy.